Interview

Mark Pendergrast

“This zip code, 30327, is the wealthiest zip code in the whole Atlanta region, and we are so close to some of the worst poverty in all of Atlanta. How do you get those people to cross over? There are more and more who are doing it, who are trying to make a difference. So I’m encouraged to that degree. But if I knew some magic thing to do, I would tell people what it was in this book I’m writing. I really don’t.

It certainly is better than it used to be. The Beltline is connecting these areas if it actually does ever get finished, which is why I wanted to write about it. And people are wanting to get out of their cars and onto their bicycles more. And when you’re on your bicycle or you’re walking, you’re seeing people, you’re more connected to them. It’s a much better way to live. And hopefully you’ll talk to them, get to know one another better. “

